### CITY AND COUNTY OF SWANSEA

## **NOTICE OF MEETING**

You are invited to attend a Special Meeting of the

## **SCRUTINY PROGRAMME COMMITTEE**

At: Committee Room 5, Guildhall, Swansea

On: Thursday, 2 April 2015

Time: 5.00 pm

Summary: This is the agenda pack for a special meeting of the Scrutiny Programme Committee taking place on the 2<sup>nd</sup> April 2015. The main item is the Gypsy and Traveller Site Search Process. Background reports are included.

#### **AGENDA**

|   | AGENDA   | Page No. |
|---|--|----------|
| 1 | Apologies for Absence.   |          |
| 2 | Disclosures of Personal & Prejudicial Interest.  | 1 - 2    |
| 3 | Prohibition of Whipped Votes and Declaration of Party Whips.   |          |
| 4 | Minutes: To approve and sign as a correct record the Minutes of the Scrutiny Programme Committee held on 9 February, 2015. | 3 - 28   |
| 5 | Evidence Session: Scrutiny of Gypsy & Traveller Site Search Process: Attending: Councillor June Burtonshaw                 | 29 - 30  |
| 6 | Work Plan: To Discuss Outstanding Evidence Gathering.  | 31 - 32  |
| 7 | Date of Next Meeting - to be confirmed.  |          |
| 8 | Exclusion of the Public.   | 33 - 36  |
| 9 | Counsel's Opinion prior to October 2013 Council. (to be made available at the meeting)                                     |          |

#### **Connect with Scrutiny:**

Members of the public are welcome to attend the above Panel / Working Group meetings. Contact the Scrutiny Team if you would like to attend. Room 3.3.7, Civic Centre, Swansea. SA1 3SN (Tel. 01792 637732)

Web: <a href="www.swansea.gov.uk/scrutiny">www.swansea.gov.uk/scrutiny</a>

Twitter: @swanseascrutiny

Email: <a href="mailto:scrutiny@swansea.gov.uk">scrutiny@swansea.gov.uk</a>

Blog: <a href="www.swanseascrutiny.co.uk">www.swanseascrutiny.co.uk</a>

Like us on Facebook: www.facebook.com/swanseascrutiny

**Patrick Arran** 

Head of Legal, Democratic Services & Procurement

26 March 2015

Contact: Democratic Services - Tel: (01792) 637292

# **SCRUTINY PROGRAMME COMMITTEE (16)**

**Labour Councillors: 11** 

| R A Clay    | P Downing    |
|-------------|--------------|
| A M Cook    | T J Hennegan |
| D W Cole    | A J Jones    |
| S E Crouch  | R V Smith    |
| J P Curtice | G J Tanner   |
| N J Davies  |              |

**Liberal Democrat Councillors: 3** 

| M H Jones | P M Meara |
|-----------|-----------|
| J W Jones |           |

**Independent Councillor: 1** 

| E W Fitzgerald |  |
|----------------|--|

**Conservative Councillor: 1** 

|               | I |
|---------------|---|
| A C S Colburn |   |
| A C C CODUIT  |   |

**Co-opted Members:** 

| Name                  | Term of Office          |
|-----------------------|-------------------------|
| David Anderson-Thomas | 14.03.2014 – 13.03.2017 |
| Sarah Joiner          | 08.07.2013 - 07.07.2017 |

#### Officers:

| Dean Taylor         | Director of Corporate Services               |
|---------------------|--|
| Lee Wenham          | Head of Marketing, Communications & Scrutiny |
| Dave Mckenna        | Overview & Scrutiny Manager                  |
| Brij Madahar        | Overview & Scrutiny Coordinator              |
| Democratic Services |  |
| Nigel Havard        | Legal  |
| Archives            |  |

#### Email:

| Executive Board          |  |
|--------------------------|--|
| Cabinet Members          |  |
| Leaders of Opposition    |  |
| Groups                   |  |
| Carl Billingsley         |  |
| Chair of Standards       |  |
| Committee                |  |
| Chair of Audit Committee |  |
| Chair of Democratic      |  |
| Services Committee       |  |

**Total Copies: 30**